Update to the notes: I will probably post a new version of The Rising Sea notes after our quarter ends. By the end of two quarters of the three-quarter sequence this year, we will reach the end of the chapter on curves, and there are only around ten known issues in the notes I want to fix up until that point. (But there are a triple-digit number of issues afterwards, which I hope to make serious progress on next quarter!)

(i) I’d like to give explicit references to examples of what behavior can go seriously wrong in the non-Noetherian setting, and long ago I’d scribbled some notes, but now I can’t remember what the actual references were to. Can anyone point me to where these are in the literature (because I’m sure I’ve seen them)? I had thought they were in the stacks project, but couldn’t easily find them there. The right person to ask is the incomparable Johan de Jong, and I can email him later, but I thought I may as well ask here first.

(a) There is a projective flat morphism where the fiber dimension is not locally constant.

(b) There is a finite flat morphism where the degree of the fiber is not locally constant.

(c) There is a projective flat morphism where the fibers are curves, and the arithmetic genus is not locally constant.

(d) There is a projective morphism for which the pushforward of coherent sheaves are not always coherent.

Behind these might be the famous “five-pound” counter-examples in the stacks project (aka tag 05LB, and now you can never forget its tag), based on a ring R with an ideal I such that R/I is flat but not projective. It is easy to describe R and I: R are the infinitely differentiable functions on the real numbers, and I are those functions that vanish in an open neighborhood of zero.

These examples are really unimportant in general in some sense, but I like having a strong sense of where the boundaries of civilization are, and what kinds of monsters actually live beyond those boundaries.

(ii) In return, I’ll give a sample new brief section. I realize now that I’ve been teaching and understanding the Jordan-Holder theorem wrong in group theory (way back in “introduction to group theory”). I’m now going to teach it in a way that naturally leads you to the notion of length, and simple objects in more general categories (without using those words), in a more natural way. One day I would like to write it up as a “bedtime story” in the style of what I did for exact sequences here. But I here is the write-up in a short section in the current version of The Rising Sea. I want it to be friendly and easy (for someone reading The Rising Sea, not someone seeing group theory the first time).

Incidentally, we traditionally teach/present the groups/rings/fields/modules class/material in the order “groups, then rings, then perhaps some modules or fields, then move from there”. I think I will next try to do it: “you know linear algebra, so let’s define a field, and vector space together, then start the course with abelian groups and their actions (leading to quotients etc., ie experience with the abelian category package extending vector spaces), then rings, then a touch of modules (and quotients etc), then UFDs, PIDs, Smith normal form from which we get classification of finitely generated abelian groups. Only then, to general groups, actions, quotients (with added weirdness). I would have to not give up any “canonical” material in the class (Math 120 at Stanford) in order to set them up for the next class, but I think I could do it. Unsurprisingly, I like Paolo Aluffi‘s approach (his homepage has a picture of the tree in which he lives); he told me last week he also does largely follows this path, although he actually does rings first. (It seems logically harder than doing abelian groups first, but conceptually I think he is right that it is easier, because people will already have an excellent intuition for the integers to build on.) He does this in his book Algebra: Notes from the Underground, which is in keeping with the excellent philosophy of his book Algebra: Chapter 0.