Hi everyone,

I had a good chat with Erik Demaine on Saturday, and it sounds like Coauthor is likely to be something we can try.  More on that soon.

The “sign-up” googleform is still active, but I’m not going to look at the results very often.

At this point, you should all have gotten discord invites (if you wanted one).  You should all have gotten your AGITTOC#, which was a number I had for you to keep track of you; it will be useful for the survey for making working groups (see below).   I’d like to thank the people who sent out that information:  Praphulla Koushik, Anand V, Toan Pham, Ariana Goh, Darren Z, Natalia Pacheco-Tallaj, Joshua Lin, Aniruddh Agarwal.  Something that would have been a big pain for me ended up being easy, and actually fun.

To do next:   Rather than emailing everyone, I think the easiest way to reach people is just by wordpress.  So please “follow” this site all important announcements will come as posts here.  Many of you already know how to do this, and you can also press the “follow” button that you should see to the right (at the top of that rightmost column).   (I wondered if I should just email everyone to tell them to do this, but it is such a pain to do so that I’m just going to say it here, and also on discord, and hopefully everyone who is particularly interested will be paying attention.)

Next, as promised in a previous post from a couple of days ago, to finally sort out groups, it will be easiest to have you quickly answer

three questions here.

The questions are trivial and instantaneous to do (roughly “What is your name, what is your quest, and what is your favorite color”), so please try to do so ASAP, or at worst by Tuesday (June 9) night (midnight Pacific time) if possible, so I can try to make the groups soon.  If all that works (and the vast majority of people are ready to put into groups), I’m still hoping to have the first lecture on Saturday June 13 at 8 am Pacific (more details later, when that’s definitive), and the only thing holding things up are organizational things, and the rest of life and other obligations.

Finally, when I asked for suggestions of possible field marshals (Erik Demaine suggested the better term “shepherd”), I should have said that I was thinking of people already participating. They needn’t know more than others in the groupoid; they should just be willing to ask questions, and have a reasonable taste in choosing interesting questions that people propose. To give you an idea of the range so far: I have an (atypical) undergrad, one about to start a PhD, a very senior grad student, a postdoc, and a professor. I’d mainly want grad student-level shepherds (but still some mathematically older and younger, who might have older or younger groupoids).