Hi all,

I forgot in the last post to say that I wouldn’t start today (May 23) because I’m still wading through survey answers.  My intent is to start on May 30, but it is taking me long enough to go through the pseudo-registrations that I fear it will be the first Saturday in June before I’m ready.

Here’s where things stand.  I’ve largely gone through around 800 so far.  I’m surprised to report that the adjective I’d most use for this rag-tag collection of people is “charming” — it is really interesting seeing where people are coming from (mathematically, intellectually, geographically).

I’m hoping to start setting up groups, in the “Algebraic Geometry Syndicate” discord server, in bits and pieces, starting with the groups that are already built.    I will let you know when I think I have placed *everyone* who said they wanted to be involved at a level higher than “include me on mass emails” into some sort of group.  (There are some people who said they didn’t want to be involved, yet also asked to be in groups — I’ll figure out what to do on the fly.)    I’ll also let you know when I’m ready to announce the first lecture (so don’t count on it being May 30).  If you haven’t heard from me (at least indirectly) when I said everyone interested was put into a preliminary group (and you thought you told me you were interested), *then* let me know.

I’m going to give the lectures using zoom webinars, which I think allow 1000 participants.  This plausibly won’t be enough at the start, so I’m a bit nervous; but I’m going to put the lectures on youtube anyway, so possibly even at the start, the number of people watching live will be safely within the number allowed.  (I don’t think this will be a long-term problem.)

I think at least one person can’t access discord in their country.  This probably doesn’t matter much to them in particular, but if this affects other people who want to be in a group to discuss things, let me know, and possibly we can figure something out.

As I’m getting things ready to go, I’ll probably keep posting every few days to let you know where things are, even though these will be less substantive posts.