A new version of the notes is available here. (It, and all older versions, are available at the usual place.) I don’t have much to report, but I just wanted to post the current version as it continues to converge. Please do continue sending in comments, particularly in the next month. There is a good chance that fairly soon a “snapshot” will be taken for an official publishable version (although that doesn’t mean that it will then be frozen).

In some more detail: I’ve now implemented the vast majority of the ideas from suggestions people have given, although there are some still to go. I’m redoing the figures in a consistent style, and about 2/3 of them are redone so far. The index will get some attention later, but the raw material is there, and I welcome suggestions and corrections. The only things I’m not interested in are latex issues (margins, etc.; but typos and errors in spacing are fair game). I am now ready for comments on figures, although there are still 1/3 of them that I haven’t re-done. 

I’ll very be busy with other duties for the next four years, so I will be able to spend much less time and attention on this. I suspect it will be enough of a break that I won’t be able to return afterwards with everything as fully in my head as it is now, so this will likely be my last chance for me to really make this as good as it can be before letting it go off into the world on its own. This really feels like nearing the endgame.

So thank you all for accompanying me on this stage of what has been a most interesting and rewarding journey for me.