I’m hoping people will take a look and make comments.  They broadly fit into three groups.

  • Perhaps a few brave students (with too much time on their hands, and serious background) will attempt to treat this as a world-wide reading course.  (Warning:  this will be very hard, and a lot of work.   You will have to do the homework.)  If you are hoping to get credit for this, you should set things up with a supervisor at your home institution.  What problems can you do?  What problems are too hard? What explanations are harder than necessary?  (You may not be able to evaluate the “than necessary” part.)
  • Perhaps people who have recently learned schemes and are solidifying their knowledge will dip and and out.  The same questions as above apply.
  • Perhaps curious and kind-hearted experts will take a look and make suggestions and corrections.  (There are certain experts in particular I hope will drop in.)  In particular, are there key examples or simple explanations or important links missing?  The only thing experts are less useful for: judging how hard topics are. I find it too easy to forget what is hard the first time through (e.g. the correspondence between line bundles and divisors).

Feedback I’d like:

  • “I found these errors: …”
  • “I found these typos: …”
  • “Topic X should certainly be learned in a first year of algebraic geometry. Why didn’t you include it?”
  • “Here is a great explanation of this theorem.”
  • “Your explanation of this idea was confusing than it needed to be.” (And possibly: “Here is a much better [or different] way of explaning that.”)
  • “Here is a cool example I wish someone had told me when I was younger.”
  • “My students [or I] had a hard time with this notion.”

I fully appreciate that the students I’ve had are not typical, and that these notes are not suitable for most people.

Comments still to respond to: I’ve dealt with all 4.

